Pages Navigation Menu


At the European Film Awards

Song of the Sea 230x240 3-13

Success for ‘Song of the Sea’ and ‘The Lobster’

Bord Scannán na hÉireann/ the Irish Film Board-supported films picked up three awards at the European Film Awards, which took place on Saturday evening. Song of the Sea and The Lobster each took home awards from the ceremony, which took place in Berlin.

Cartoon Saloon’s Song of the Sea, directed by Tomm Moore, received the award for European Animated Feature Film 2015. This is the latest in a long string of awards for the highly acclaimed film, which was also nominated for an Academy Award® earlier this year. The film features the vocal talents of Irish talent including David Rawle, Brendan Gleeson, Fionnula Flanagan, Lisa Hannigan and Pat Shortt.

Meanwhile Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou were named European Screenwriters 2015 for The Lobster, which was produced by Element Pictures, while Sarah Blenkinsop collected her previously announced award for Best Costume Designer. The Lobster proved a hit at the Irish and UK box office, and was the winner of the Jury Prize at this year’s Cannes Film Festival. The film stars Colin Farrell, Rachel Weisz, John C. Reilly and Ben Whishaw.

Song of the Sea was directed by Tomm Moore, written by Tomm Moore and Will Collins and produced by Paul Young and Ross Murray. The production companies were Cartoon Saloon, Melusine Productions, The Big Farm, Superprod and Noerlum Studios. Irish finance for Song of the Sea came from Bord Scannán na hÉireann/the Irish Film Board, the BAI and TG4.

The Lobster is directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, written by Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou and produced by Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Ceci Dempsey and Yorgos Lanthimos. Executive Producers are Andrew Lowe, Tessa Ross and Sam Lavender. The Lobster is an Element Pictures, Scarlet Films, Faliro House, Haut et Court, Lemming Film co-production in association with Limp and Irish finance for the film came from Bord Scannán na hÉireann/the Irish Film Board.