Pages Navigation Menu


Short Film Commission


Deadline: 4th September

A new Short Film Commission Scheme has been announced by RTÉ in partnership with Galway Film Centre and Galway Film Fleadh.

Writers are invited to submit a story idea and the best three ideas will be selected and receive a prize of €500 each. These three writers will then be mentored by an experienced Script Editor to bring their idea from a story outline to a finished script. From this, one script will be selected and the winning script will be made into a short film.

New and up-and-coming directors are also invited to submit a short CV to be selected through a competitive process to direct the winning script. The directors will also be mentored by an experienced director through prep, casting right through to being supported on set. The directors mentoring panel will include Dearbhla Walsh (‘Penny Dreadful’, ‘Roald Dahl’s Esio Trot’), Paddy Breathnach, (‘Shrooms’, ‘I Went Down’), and David Caffrey, (‘Love Hate’, ‘Divorcing Jack’) and, depending on the shooting schedule, one of these will mentor the director.

Young producers and production companies are also encouraged to register for the scheme and will be selected on a CV and interview basis.

Writers are now invited to submit a short film story idea by September 4th.

Full details and guidelines are available on