Pages Navigation Menu


9th Dingle International Film Festival

dingle iff

Now Open For Submissions

The 9th Dingle International Film Festival is now open for submissions and have announced its festival dates for 2015.

The festival will take place from Thursday the 12th March to Sunday the 15th March 2015.

Filmmakers can submit online now at and submissions will remain open up to 5.30pm on Friday the 14th November.

The festival welcomes short and feature films and are open to all genres of film: happy to receive animation, live action, experimental and documentary film. The festival is interested in receiving and programming features and shorts suitable for a family audience.

As part of Dingle Animation we are looking for animated features and shorts for our animation showcase on March 12th and 13th as part of the festival.

The festival is also interested to view new works made using the Irish language.

Filmmakers can apply online or use the post, all details are on our website. The festival can exhibit on 35mm, DCP and HD Pro Res files. Our venues include the wonderful Independent Phoenix Cinema built in 1937 and the atmospheric St. James’ church built in 1807. We also exhibit in Ioan An Blaschaoid Mhóir, An Lab and The Cinemobile.

There is a competition for best short voted on by the audience, the winner will receive a beautiful award designed for the festival by the world renowned jeweller Brian de Staic.

Deadline to receive a submission is 5.30pm Friday November 14th 2014.

Selected films will be announced by January 2014.

Físín This is an Irish language short script/proposal competition, please see Prize is €5,000 plus €2,000 worth of renting filming equipment. Competition will open shortly.

The festival is home to The Gregory Peck Award: recipients of the award have included; Laura Dern (2014), Jean-Jacques Beineix (2011), 2-time Oscar nominated, Stephen Frears (2010), 6-time Oscar nominated, Jim Sheridan (2009) and Golden Globe winner, Gabriel Byrne (2008).

Guests to the festival have also included: Oscar nominated Saoirse Ronan, Sarah Miles & Sir Alan Parker; 2-time Emmy winners Lisa Albert & Marc Flanagan; 2-time Oscar winner Barbara Kopple; Oscar winners Garrett Brown and Cynthia Wade; Hollywood screen writer Leslie Dixon; Hollywood superstar Maureen O Hara; Cillian Murphy, Ned Dowd, Jimmy T. Murakami, Oscar winner Richie Baneham, Aidan Gillen, Sé Merry Doyle, Conor Horgan, Katie Holly, Ed Guiney, John Rice, Dick Carruthers, Mark O Halloran, Anthony Wall, Geoff Wonfor, Sophie Fiennes and many more.

What filmmakers and other guests have said about Dingle:

“I have been to hundreds of film festivals all over the globe for what seems to be the last hundred years and in my opinion the Dingle Film Festival is the best among them all”. Jimmy T. Murakami (The Snowman, When The Wind Blows)

“Thank you so much for a great festival and for assembling a terrific group of people and films. The spirit and the atmosphere reminded me of the first ever Sundance Film Festival, a beautiful setting, full of like minded people all willing to share their knowledge and experience.  So, from now on, you are the Robert Redford of the West Coast of Ireland!”  Michael Ryan, Producer (The English Patient)

“Thanks for a wonderful Festival. You win first prize for inaugurating ‘The Jimmy Murakami Award’. The great animator of ‘Snowman’ and ‘When the Wind Blows’ was emotionally blown away!”  Sé Merry Doyle, Director (Dreaming The Quite Man)

“Having been to many interesting film events over the years I can honestly say with hand on my heart the Dingle film festival is by far the best craic I’ve ever had at a film festival. This may have been influenced by Dingle’s scenic beauty, the fantastic company or my pride in receiving the Murakami Award. When The Wind Blows was a major reason for my becoming an animator” Oscar winnerRichie Baneham(Avatar)

“It was such a fantastic festival this year and we all enjoyed it immensely. The atmosphere was so special and the Murakami award was especially poignant – I know Richie will treasure it. The introduction of the YA-O-TY award was a lovely addition also and I’m sure it will become a very coveted accolade in years to come.”   Alan Shannon JAM Media

For further information you can contact Maurice Galway at or go to