Pages Navigation Menu


Penny Dreadful Series 2

PennyDreadful_Season 2

Filmed on Location in Ireland

Penny Dreadful creator John Logan said of series two: “This season Vanessa and Ethan face new challenges, and old enemies, and turn to each other for solace. Their intimacy grows as they are forced to confront their demons together.”

The series, produced by US TV network Showtime, has filmed in Ardmore Studios as well as various locations around Counties Dublin and Wicklow. The first series of Penny Dreadful benefitted from Bord Scannán na hÉireann/the Irish Film Board’s International Production Fund, which aims to attract major film and television productions to Ireland.

On Ireland as a filming location, Logan previously stated that “you get better Victorian London in Dublin than you do in London.”

Series 1 of Penny Dreadful provided employment opportunities for over 350 Irish cast and crew and was worth €33 million to the Irish economy. Emmy-award winner Dearbhla Walsh (The Tudors, Shameless) directed two episodes. Key Irish creative roles on the series include cinematographers PJ Dillon and Owen McPolin, set decorator Philip Murphy, Master Painter Neville Gaynor, Prop Master David Flanagan, Construction Manager Nicky MacManus and Locations Managers Maria O’Connor and Colm Nolan. Irish actress Sarah Greene will also feature in series 2.

Penny Dreadful has been acclaimed following its debut earlier this year. It was created, written and executive produced by the Academy Award®-nominated John Logan (Skyfall, Gladiator) along with Academy Award®-winner Sam Mendes (American Beauty, Skyfall). The series stars Josh Hartnett (Black Hawk Down), Eva Green (Casino Royale), Timothy Dalton (Licence to Kill), Billie Piper (Doctor Who) and Rory Kinnear (Quantum of Solace).

Series 2 of Penny Dreadful will debut in 2015 on Sky Atlantic in Ireland and the UK and on Showtime in the USA. Penny Dreadful is produced by Neal Street Productions and Desert Wolf Productions and co-produced in Ireland by Octagon Films for SHOWTIME and Sky Atlantic, with funding from Bord Scannán na hÉireann/the Irish Film Board.