Pages Navigation Menu


‘Rubai’ Triumphs at Corona Fastnet Short Film Festival


Rubai wins

Rubai, directed by Louise Ni Fhiannachta, took home Best Drama and Best of Festival awards for 2014 on Sunday last at the sixth annual Corona Fastnet Short Film Festival.

The festival, which took place from the 21st to the 25th of May saw huge crowds of filmmakers from all over the world descend on Schull, Co. Cork for the duration of the festival. With over 300 short films being screened across 15 different venues, from the Ceiling Cinema, Mirror Cam and screenings on Long Island to pub and Café viewing all over town. Visitors also attended feature screenings, film quizzes and nightly live music.

The five-day event held various gala screenings, workshops, seminars, forums and clinics with some of Ireland’s top producers and directors including Carmel Winters, John Kelleher, Sandy Lieberson, Hilary Durman, Philomena’s Steve Coogan, Stephen Frears, Gabrielle Tana, Tracey Seaward, and Run and Jump writer Ailbhe Keoghan.

Other winners at the festival included Ian Fitzgibbon’s Breakfast Wine (Best Irish Short Film & Best Direction); Niall Owens’ Torn (Best In Cork); Jordon Prince-Wright’s Not Their Boots (Best Junior Filmmaker); Carolyn Duchene’s Wanda (Best Young Filmmaker); Laurence Relton’s Reel Life (Best Comedy); Aoife Kelleher’s Home (Best Documentary); Steve Woods Director, Ray Harman Music for Keeping Time (Best Arthouse & Best Original Music); Rita Basulto’s Lluvia en los Ojos (Best Animation); Hannah Salt’s Bump (Best Screenplay); Ronan Fox’s Keeping Time (Best Cinematography); and Evan Payne’s The Skelligs (Best Conservation).

This West Cork based festival also presented a director’s forum, chaired by John Kelleher and attended by Jim Sheridan, Stephen Frears, Pat Collins, Carmel Winters, Maurice O’Callaghan, Brian Deane and Jack Gold. Famous patrons of the festival include Lenny Abrahamson, Greg Dyke, Jim Sheridan, Kirsten Sheridan, Carmel Winters, David Puttnam, Jack Gold, Steve Coogan, John Kelleher, Gerard Stembridge and Maurice Seezer.

For more information on the festival and list of winners please check out